Greater Brighton - 2024 Official Visitors Guide

DISCOVER HISTORIC DOWNTOWN

2023-12-21 05:37:02

HISTORY OF DOWNTOWN BRIGHTON

During the 1880s, Brighton was growing quickly. It boasted a school, church, blacksmith shop, hotel, meat market, post office, railroad, telegraph stations, newspaper, creamery, two general stores, three saloons, and a growing number of residences.

Each one of these businesses and residences could be found on what is now known as Main Street in downtown Brighton. Only a few of the original buildings remain today, but the historic nature of what pioneers envisioned is still visible in the architecture.

Buildings help tell the story of how people lived and how they changed throughout the years. Here are a few places you should visit.

8 N. MAIN ST.

Built by Frank Collier c. 1916, this vernacular, commercial-style brick building is the Leffingwell Building. It has stood at the corner of Main and Bridge streets for over 100 years. Much of the original brick, elevator, woodwork, pressed tin ceilings and proper windows remain, with the exterior retaining much of its historic integrity as well.

121 N. MAIN ST.

Built c. 1925, this building is an excellent example of the one-part commercial block with decorative brickwork at the cornice. It also showcases a recessed entrance with large storefront windows. Originally home to the Greenfield Seed Company, it was later home to Brighton Seed. It is considered an exceptionally significant historic resource in the Downtown Historic District.

25 N. MAIN ST.

Like many of the Downtown Historic District buildings, 25 N. Main has operated as a number of different uses over the years. These have included the Shirley Café, the ShyAnn Café, the Golden West Café, Penny Dry Goods, and for a time even as JCPenney. The decorative parapet and cornice brickwork catch eyes even today.

43 N. MAIN ST.

One of the core group of older structures on Main Street, this building was constructed c. 1895 and first served as a bank. Over the years, it also operated as a barbershop and a gentleman’s furnishings store. With its decorative corbels, detailed cornice, and recessed entrance, it is an excellent example of a late 19th century, one-part commercial-block building.

177 E. BRIDGE ST.

Built in 1912 by G.C. Leeper. The location was originally home of Counter Lumber. Later, from the 1920s until about the 1980s, J.C. Hunter and his wife lived on the second story and ran the hardware business. Now it is Pinocchio’s restaurant, but the building retains much of the original exterior.

269 E. BRIDGE ST.

Built in 1907, the Hughes Train Station was moved in 1980 to the current address on Bridge Street. In the ‘80s, it served as a popular restaurant and bar. Now it is the revived Visitor Center and historic landmark.

Content provided by The Brighton

Historic Preservation Commission

Stay up to date!

facebook.com/Brightonhistory

Downtown Historic District

brightonco.gov/1154/Downtown-Historic-District

©Lunar Cow Publishing. View All Articles.

DISCOVER HISTORIC DOWNTOWN
https://go.lunarcow.com/article/DISCOVER+HISTORIC+DOWNTOWN/4700129/811322/article.html

Menu
  • Page View
  • Contents View
  • Advertisers

Issue List

2026 Official Visitors Guide

2024 Official Visitors Guide

Greater Brighton 2020 Visitors Guide


Library